top of page

Museum, Radio DJ, Tears and Weirdness


I'm still sick and now its official, I have a fucking cold with all the fucking usual symptoms that come with it. Itchy and runny nose and congested mucus phlegmy cough (that Christian worries about and he and Damon have taken to checking my lungs everyday because of it, but I don't mind that because they're playing doctor with me. ;) )Thanks a lot, bitch. You know who I'm referring to. How. Dare. Her. Ugh! And then I'm going to have to go to fucking Hell work later on today. Piece of shit cocksuckers, but anyway, I'm glad I didn't feel this way for my birthday because colds are the fucking worst and I get them the worst. Christian has been trying to take care of me the best he can with my medical team, and of course Damon sometimes. Yesterday, he was like: "I'm just going to take a quick listen to your lungs, okay kiddo?" And then he puts his cold Sprague stethoscope on me and listens. In fact, Damon was supposed to sleep next to me last night but a girl needed her Daddy so I had Christian sleep next to me instead. I thought I needed Cholreseptic spray yesterday but I don't have the sore throat anymore. Thank GOD! You know words are my life, but now I sound like Peetsta Pasta ( the receptionist that used to work at my mom's dentist office), all congested and shit.


Okay, so I have to tell you about this shit before I forget. I experienced some crazy and weird shit when I woke up today ( I slept for most of the day unfortunately ), so much that I was actually afraid to open my eyes or move. At the same time, I'm hoping it means that I'm on the edge of opening my third eye and that things will become a little clearer. So I'm lying there on my bed and I hear this weird groaning noise, but its not like a human kind of groan. It was more like the groan you hear when something is being dragged across the floor, like a piece of furniture or some other object. At first I thought it was that gorilla upstairs who always makes noise being the rude bitch she is, but this sound specifically came from inside my room. Nowhere else. Inside the room. I heard that type of groan a few times and I also heard this electronic kind of noise, it sounded like someone was playing one of those electronic games but it was a real quick sound. At the same time I was hearing these noises, the covers were moving near my groin. Up. Down. Shifting this way or that. And I also heard breathing. Then when I finally did open my eyes, my vision was really fuzzy. The ceiling was straight up blurry and coming in and out of focus. First I was like:












Then I was like:






















I mean, I'm assuming it was Carlon, but I really don't know. It totally weirded me out. I had a Blair witch moment there for a second -- "I'm scared to close my eyes, and I'm scared to open them." But I'll get over it. I'll get used to it. When I was going to take another nap, I noticed that it happened against for a few seconds. Don't know what awaits me tonight.


Okay, so, moving on. . .let's talk about my birthday yesterday. Or rather, the day before yesterday. My mom was being all pissy about not leaving at around 9 in the morning to head out, because she had to do some shit, apparently. She had to go to Walmart where she works to straighten so shit out with her sick days or whatever, I don't know. So when I finally got up, we went there first and while she was doing that, I decided to get some snacks for me to eat in the car on the way to L.A. Some sweet imported Jerky that I hadn't had before but seemed to be like from Japan or something (and it was disgusting and tasted like a Huggie wipe smells), a bag of salame, a little turkey and cheese snacker, some strawberry pocky, and that was about it. Christian, of course, had to get irritated with me when I insisted on looking at the books but fuck, I'm always curious to see what's on the shelves that I might have missed. He tends to get impatient with me once I start reading the back covers of like almost all of them, but how else will I know what the book is about if I don't? I was all scratching my leg and I guess I scratched too hard because the next thing I knew, I was bleeding. Damon, of course, went into medic mode and knelt down to check the damage. Christian was worried as usual. After Walmart, she stopped by McDonalds so we could get ourselves some large drinks and then we got on our way and onto the freeway to head to L.A. I keep finding myself constantly wondering what my spirits do or where they go when I'm in the car, especially being that they travel everywhere with me now. Anyway, I spent most of the trip there reading (ironically) my "Dear Los Angeles" book and snacking. I really wanted to have an offline Spotify playlist to listen to on the way there but despite having like 3 GB of space on my phone, it would only fit half of the songs so I just decided fuck it. Pissed me off though that I couldn't have them to listen to.


My mom found the California Science Center museum easily enough since it was by USC but fuck, it was so hot outside and to boot, my heels were hurting like a bitch and we had to walk like half a mile just to get to the entrance of the place. I was like: "This is why I don't go to amusement parks anymore, because of my feet and because I would need my oxygen." Christian mentioned the oxygen thing at the same time I did. Isn't it so cute how we finish each others sentences, even though he's sentient? So we went to the box office and paid for our tickets to the dog exhibit since that was the only exhibit in the museum that wasn't free. We went in and they had this huge gift shop to the left and we went through the turn styles and up the elevators to the second floor where the exhibits actually started. The first floor was just the food court and the gift shop and bathrooms and information desk and all that. Anyway, my mom was so eager to go to the dog exhibit because that was the only reason she wanted to go to the museum. Other than that, she was like: "I'm not a science person." Pfft! Well excuse me! For real though, I'm the science major. I've always loved science and I always got good grades in science. I really wanted to do the hurricane simulator but it seemed like all the interactive things cost money and I didn't have $3. I think it just blew a lot of air. Probably like being in one of those money tubes on TV. I don't know.


What did we see? Well, in the first few exhibits, we saw fish in big fish tanks, lizards, geckos ( totally looks like the gecko on TV for Geiko. Hehe! ), animal bones, eggs, stuff like that. In one of the exhibits, there was this thermometer device ( the same kind of thermometer they use for ghost hunting ) and while I tried to see if there would be any temperature changes around me from my spirits, I didn't get nothing. Ugh! Pisses me off. There was this patch of hair that showed us what a polar bear felt like. Soooo soft! I loved it. There was also a penguin egg. So cute! Ahhh! Penguins, my favorite animal. In this other exhibit, there was this huge tank filled with water that was like one of those giant wave thingies. You know the ones they use for paperweights where the water slowly goes back and forth like waves in the container? I tried to lift the thing to get it go back and forth but it took too much out of me to make it move and it was heavy AF. There was also this thermal camera. Yet another ghost hunting device. While my mom and I could see where we were hot and cold on our bodies, sadly, no spirits appeared in the frame. Really getting sick of this shit not working. There was this other thing that my mom only had the magic touch to make work. You put your hand on it and press down and it makes these little snow flurries float around inside in front of this TV with penguins in the arctic on it. So after those exhibits, we went outside where they had these two huge open tanks with the water was rising up and down to sort of show an example of the ocean. . .or something. I don't know. But it was cool, but that's not the best part. They also had "touch tanks" where you can actually touch sea creatures. I was a little afraid but I decided to step out of my comfort zone and do something I've never done before. I got to touch a starfish and this other round little sea urchin creature with tiny little tentacles. The starfish felt really hard and prickly and the sea urchin's tentacles felt like uncooked macaroni. It was weird and the water was cold as hell but I only stuck my hand in and touched them with two fingers (because that's how they said to do it).


There was this other exhibit that I was a little disappointed by. See, there was this big rock wall and a sign that said: "Flash flood every 10 minutes" so I waited 10 minutes walking around and seeing the rest and kept glancing back and do you think the damn thing started to gush out water or even create a flood? No. Ugh! So mad and disappointed. Fucking teases! I thought it was going to be like Universal Studios where there's like an eruption and then BAM! There was even an area off to the side surrounded by glass that said: "Splash zone." Ugh! Fucking pissed. There was some other animals in the rocky tunnel part. They had this eagle in this glass cage that I guess they were nursing back to health ( thats what it said on the note ) and he was just chillin' in there, glancing back at us like: "What do you want punk?" Lol! What else? There were more lizards and I couldn't see it but there was supposed to be a pack rat in there. There was an earthworm and then ants. Ugh! Like an art farm and like this whole sandy hill just covered with thousands of ants. Eeesh! They give me the willies where there's a lot of them. Ewww and there was also this thing that asked you to push a button and smell what a dead rat smelled like to a certain animal and what a dead rat smelled like to humans and I fucking regret even doing that. Badness. Next, we went into this huge dark room that had a screen on either side of us and it was like playing different environmental videos. There was this room beyond it that had like plane tires in it and space like stuff, a switchboard center like for them to monitor spacecrafts with computer terminals and stuff. Even a motion simulator to show what its like in space. Again, it cost money that I didn't have so I didn't get to like try it out or anything.

I was super excited to get to the next exhibit before we went to the dog one. It was the World of Life room. The exhibit that is mostly about anatomy. When we walked in there, they had numerous hearts on display in glass cases: a cow heart, human heart, rat heart, and a dog's heart. It brought a smirk to Christian's face to see the hearts on display, but he's a heart surgeon so. . .it's pretty obvious he'd be into it. And Damon too, being the paramedic he is too. And Hyde is always fascinated by that stuff since we went to that Bodies exhibit in Vegas. It still makes me roll my eyes when I remember when he was talking to me during it like I was a child, being all: "See, there's your little hand." Oh God. Anyway, it made me really depressed when my mom mentioned Bruiser dying in her arms and feeling his heart started to slow. Way to bring me down on my fucking birthday, mom. Thanks. So there were the hearts and there was also brains. Human brain, cow brain, dog brain, rat brain, ant brain ( damn that was tiny ). Also, a simulator to make you see what drunk driving was like but it wasn't really working right ( my mom tried it lol ), and there was another fish tank that demonstrated how fish tend to swim in the direction of the water pressure or something. They also had bugs in glass cases but I hate bugs. And the thing that I was looking forward to seeing most and that Christian really loved was The Surgery Theater. Here's a picture of it. . .

It's really cool and in the center of the chest there, you can watch a video of actual heart surgery being performed. That whole patient on the table thing is just like sculpted that way. Stone-like. It's not movable or has separate pieces. Of course I've already seen that on YouTube. I had to, after all, when I wrote that chapter where Christian was in surgery and messed up. It was sort of weird and ironic to see him standing near this thing with Damon and Hyde, you know, with him not being in his whole sexy surgeon get up but in his suit and watching the video. He was standing there all like: "I do this same exact procedure everyday." Hehe! Of course he does. He was totally in his element even though the rest of the little cubby-hole didn't look like an operating room. It wasn't as good as seeing him actually IN his element when I had my gallbladder out last year. That was hot af! Being all sexy in his blue scrubs, the cap and that mask hanging down around his neck as he pushed me to pre-op with the scrub nurse. God if you'd only have seen him. Of course I have a gif of it but he was such a sweetie to me, all trying to calm me down and telling me to just relax, which I know was partly or entirely because I was hooked up to a heart monitor and he could hear how fast it was beeping. In the words of Phoebe Halliwell: "I love that man." But I'm getting off topic. After the little video was over, a soft overhead light came on and there was this big X-Ray box on the wall adjacent to the operating table with like different X-Rays on it. Also loved Christian coming up beside me and all standing there staring at the X-Rays with his hands on his hips and this intense surgeon/doctor stare. So hot! I would've spent all day in that surgery theater with him. You know. . .if there had been more surgical things and doctor stuff to actually play with.


There was this chicken and an egg thing but no chicken inside the glass box unfortunately. Grrr! Some other bullshit on the whole reproductive system and fucking babies. Bleh! Gross. My mom was going on about how everything in that museum was so outdated. So 60s/70s vibe. Who cares if its outdated. It's still cool and I hadn't seen it before now. On the wall, they had like eyeballs and said that brown eyes are the most common color and also strands of hair, and talking about dimpled chins. There was also this chair that you sit in and suddenly you hear all this coughing and there's a little video on the little TV in front of you that tells about the dangers of smoking. Like we need reminder, but the actual Bodies exhibit does that far better with the healthy and blackened lungs side by side. Did I mention that they even have a big glass box to throw your cigarettes in beside it? Yeah. But that's not here at this museum of course. They still had the lungs on display though and I had to snap a picture. The bronchioles branches really fascinate me. I looked at Christian and I was like: "That's what the bronchioles look like? For real?" I mean, I know they have lungs on display in the Bodies exhibit but I never really noticed how clustered together the bronchiole tree is and the fine details to it. Christian confirmed that yes, that's what they look like.

There were these other things, like a lever you crank that lets you find out how much pressure is in a giraffe's blood and a little girl. I don't know. Weird. Then we got to the heart and the electrical function of it and I told Christian and my mom that it looks like stringy pieces of chicken inside or turkey. That gave him a chuckle. He was like: "Those are the ventricles. You think they look like chicken?" But come on, I'm not the only one who thinks that, right? Look at it! They're so stringy and tiny.

Christian was all getting into professor mode and telling me: "That's why the heart is so fragile. Those strings can easily break." Of course he was referring to broken heart syndrome. I always tell him that that's probably how I'm going to die, even though he'll shake his head adamantly and say the same thing he always says that always touches my heart (pun or no pun intended): "No. I won't let that happen. Not on my watch." Pitter-patter. Don't you just melt? I know, right?


There was also this little station where you could sit down and place your arms on this metal thing and see your ECG but the quality was really bad. They definitely need to update that but I sat there and put my arms on it and Christian observed my tracings and he needs to seriously stop saying, "Beauuutiful" when he sees my heartbeat because my ovaries can't take it. Damon and Hyde get a kick out of my embarrassment. Dicks! It looked like they also had a blood pressure station or were SUPPOSED TO but there was no cuff for it. If there were, I know Christian and the guys would've definitely made me check my blood pressure even though I don't like to in public. They made me do it at the Bodies exhibit and also one time when we were at Walmart. Of course it was normal that time and Christian breathed a sigh of relief. He worries so much. But its sweet. Plus, there was this area for the digestive system that was sort of educating people on how to eat right (*eyeroll*) and a thing of the intestines that showed the process of consuming and digesting food but with just sound effects. My stomach was already feeling a little queasy and I felt like I was going to be sick from all the snacks I ate on the way to L.A., so hearing the stomach sounds for that thing only made me feel sicker. Ick. Not like I haven't heard them before with a stethoscope but the ones there were so much louder, even if they weren't my own. And they had cute little hamsters in a glass case, live ones, and they were so cute, it made me miss my own hamster (that I didn't take care of and feel really guilty for). There was also a live frog. My mom was being a fucking pain in the ass at that point and even though I wanted to hang around the World of Life longer, she was so damn insistent about the dog exhibit.


So we took the escalator up to the third floor where the dog exhibit was and went in and the first thing you see when you walk in is how the world looks like from a dog's perspective, walking around all low to the ground while people pass by you and you just see from their feet to the calves usually. The video showed that on the TV, but of course they see like that because that's usually how most movies show their POV. There was this other thing to test how fast you can run against a dog but yeah. There was this big thing with dog ears on it and you could like lean forward and peek into this tiny little doll sized room and hear the difference between what us as humans hear and what dogs hear. Like they hear the crickets really loud and shit. There were these other things like build-your-own-dog, questions and answers about dogs, information about how to adopt a dog and to aid you in your adoption, a dog gallery of paintings by some Rockwell guy, a place where you could tell your own dog stories on camera, numerous little white boards with questions about dogs ( What do you love about dogs? What are dogs good for? What's one word you would use to describe your dog? ). I picked up the marker and answered almost all of them. Dogs are fun to. . .dress up in cute little outfits. I described our dog Bella in one word: "Fatty." Dogs are good for. . .helping me sense spirits. Dogs annoy me. . .when they bark while I'm trying to sleep. True dat, right? There was even this short and stupid maze for you to "walk an invisible dog" with even leashes attached to nothing, people voices as you walked through it, those nasty smelling things. There were more of those stupid smell buttons in the whole exhibit and oh God. . .after a few sniffs of those things (most of them just had to be something disgusting like dog shit itself or again, something dead), my stomach couldn't handle it and I had to go to the bathroom. Not to puke. To. . .well, you know. When I came out, I went to look around the little gift shop they had specifically for the dog exhibit. They had the cutest things. My mom met us there and she bought me these cute wolf socks, cause yeah, I'm the Little Wolf. I wish they had had a fuzzy eye mask of more than just a french bulldog because I really wanted one.


After we looked around the shop, we were near ready to go but my mom wanted to see some crap of the space shuttle or something. I don't know but my heels were already killing me and I couldn't walk anymore so I let her go back to see that while Christian led me over to a chair to sit down and so I could put the pain ointment on my foot. It didn't really help much and I had to limp back to the escalators to go down to the gift shop. I wanted to look at it before they closed and we only had like an hour left before they did. So me and the guys went in there and started to look around and you know Christian being Christian always has to get nervous when I'm somewhere and there's books around. Not like I was going to buy any. God! So yeah, we started to look around but then my stomach started to feel sick again so I had to run to the bathroom across the way. Thank God it wasn't that far. I was in there for a little while and I had like a little more than five minutes when I came out to finish looking in the gift shop at everything. I was so excited that they actually sold crystals there. Both tumbled and regular pointed crystals but damn it, they were too expensive. I mean, come on, $2.99 each for a small little crystal? The bigger ones were locked up and they were like from $14.99-$25.00. I really wanted to get more amethyst and citrite crystals. They had those little stick on stars that you put on your ceiling. Damn. I haven't seen those since the 90s. Nothing really I needed to buy. I guess. I had to wait for my mom to get out of the bathroom so again, with my heels hurting, Christian led me over to a bench to sit down while I waited. When she was done, I limped my way back to the car and we were off.


We got ourselves another large soda from McDonalds and some french fries to share and then, ugh, my stomach started to feel sick again and God, it was so hard to keep from literally losing my shit right there in the car while my mom tried to find me a bathroom. Christian was telling me to hang in there and not to think about it but she found a bathroom for me by stopping me at Vons and ugh, I hate L.A. bathrooms. They're the worst and most unsanitary. Plus they are usually a disaster and stink to high heaven. This one definitely did stink, at least I discovered that as soon as I found it and limped my way there with my heels hurting. I swear, I could feel blisters on my feet already and it wasn't just on my heels, it was like the ball of my foot too. Someone put "I <3 2 SUCK DICK" on the toilet paper holder with their number. EW. Someone else wrote: "mgmt here are a bunch of dinguses" on the hand dryer. Whatever that means. See what I mean about L.A. public bathrooms though? Beggars couldn't be choosers though and I just tried to make it quick. After that, we attempted to try and make it to Halloween Town, but of course with all the fucking traffic, that wasn't happening. I wanted to go to Target too. Needless to say, we spent far more time on the road and in the car than we ever have before in L.A. First it was the traffic that was keeping us from getting where we wanted to go, and then it was my mom getting us fucking lost because her phone was dead and she couldn't use her GPS to find out where she was. My phone didn't have WiFi so yeah, I couldn't help even if I wanted to and she was all getting stressed and frustrated and was making me nervous because of how panicky she was being.


Since it was Friday the 13th, (yeah, don't remind me that my birthday sometimes falls on Friday the 13th), the DJ on the radio station, Karen Sharp was taking phone calls from people to talk about what their biggest fear is so I just decided since we were in the car that I'd call in. Imagine my surprise when they actually put me on to talk to Karen. I don't know if it made the radio since we were at Target for two hours, but it didn't seem like they were going to play me, which fucking sucks since it WAS my birthday and I talked to her for like ten minutes.










I told her my worst fear is earthquakes and she asked me if I felt the ones that happened recently. I said no, and she asked where I was calling from. I told her it was me and my mom on the road and that it was my birthday and she wished me a happy birthday. I told her we had gone to the Science Center and she asked me if I saw the 3D IMAX Superdog movie. We didn't but yeah, I told her about how scared I get during earthquakes and I run through the house screaming and always need to have someone nearby to cling to. She then asked me what song I wanted her to play and I chose me and Christian's song ( I really should have told her I dedicate it to my Daddy, Christian ) "Love Me Like You Do" by Ellie Goulding. So that was about it. We talked for a while though so its cool that I got to meet her. Wish I would've known if she put me on the radio or not, although I hate hearing my voice.

We were at Target for like two hours. I really, really wanted to go to the actual mall so I could go to Hot Topic, but the fucking asshole motherfuckers at the Glendale Galleria closed at 9. Those fucking cocksuckers should be forced to stay open later for my birthday. BITCH. I took the motorized cart around the store because of my heels and the whole time Damon kept poking fun at me saying that I was a bad driver and that they should never to let me behind the wheel because I kept accidentally bumping into shit. The little shit. Christian was like the father figure, of course and he was like: "Sweetheart, please watch where you're going" or "Sweetheart, watch out." And just sighing in frustration and shaking his head in disbelief. Since this Target was 3 stories, I had to use the elevator to move between each floor and that was when Christian was most panicked and getting on my case about being careful not to bump into anyone. "Sweetheart" this and "Sweetheart" that. Aye yi yi! He just walked alongside the cart as I drove it. I felt like a dumbass though in it. Oooh! And they had my ice cream. My birthday cake ice cream. That's right! See? They recanize! Not like the fucks around here who sell out of it but it was nice to have it again. Especially, ironically, for my birthday.


Still, it depresses me that I didn't get an actual cake or candles to blow out. I'm used to that, and a birthday isn't a birthday without blowing out candles and making a wish. I want to make a wish! Even though they never come true. Well, my wish to meet Daniel Gillies did but that's beside the point. My mom was getting impatient and so was Christian when I was looking at the books, but what do you expect. Plus, she gave me $20 in my birthday card so I was looking for a new book to buy with it. I keep changing my mind which paperback I want to read next. The Halloween stuff was what I wanted to look at most of all and Dom and Christian got mad about me getting gummy fangs, but I haven't had them in a long time so I had to get them. Hyde was totally loving how they've named him for all their Halloween stuff. "Hyde & Seek" is what they call it. He SO loves it and he loved all the stuff with his name on it. He was so psyched, he even did a hair flip. Lol! I love when he does that. That beautiful long hair. I still love it. I touched that gorgeous hair once when I met Constantine. Oh. my GOD! It's so damn soft and fluffy, I just wanted to roll around in it. There was even one that said something with "Hyde Manor". . .so fucking awesome! I wanted all the Hyde named stuff and that light up candlestick like the one in the Haunted Mansion. Plus, they had the cutest little rag dolls in costumes. I had to get one with the money I had. The one dressed as a cat. I also got a Haunted Mansion shirt that says: "The Haunted Mansion is my happy place." TOTES! It so is! I lost my mom and I was driving that cart around for so long, I thought I was going to have to have her paged. I found her eventually though. I used self check-out and then we left.


I don't know what we got into a fight about but my mom made me fucking cry again afterward and I just seriously wanted to throw myself out of the car and go straight home. But we didn't. We went to eat at IHOP, and just my luck, the fucks at this IHOP didn't even have WiFi. WTF IS THAT ABOUT!? What normal IHOP doesn't have WIFI? Clearly they weren't normal. So getting my free pancakes was out because no fucking WIFI to show them my email. Eventually, after a while, my mom stopped being a bitch and I ordered. My nose was seriously running though so I had to keep getting more napkins and shit. Ugh! I had my ham, cheese and egg melt with onion rings. I hated that there were so many people there that night. Just ugh! I couldn't hear myself think. Christian sat next to me in the booth and Hyde and Damon sat at the table adjacent to ours. . .well, until some fucks came and took their spot. As usual. So they just had to stand. After IHOP we came home, me reading my Kindle on the way. I was so tired as fuck when I got home. I just straight up went to sleep.


And that's what I did on my birthday. Exciting, huh? Yeah right. Damon wanted me to go into the wonderland and let them throw me a party but that never happened.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2020 by Amy Mikaelson. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page